Monday, 9 April 2012

theres a first for everything

because i have decided that i would make it a goal to write on our blog on a daily basis i thought maybe i'd tell the story of how landon and i met. I must say, it isnt anything totally dreamy but i kind of like it :)

both landon and i went to the same Jr. high and high school but we never got to know each other. we had heard of one another but nothing ever became of it. Landon was busy being landon and i had no interest what so ever. but thanks to the golden day of September 19, 2008 our lives changed forever. okay, okay it isnt that dramatic. but seriously, we have been inseparable ever since. So from what i remember exactly it was less than one month in to my senior year of high school and all i could remember thinking and i swear i told some of my friends that "all i want is to have a serious boyfriend through out my senior year." thank you cupid for listening, i sincerely appreciate it because i got exactly what i asked for. Orem high was playing Provo high in football. I wore my sweet orem high jersey and some classy glasses frames that i found laying around my house. i was looking pretty good if i do say so myself. ahem. It was such a fun football game, one of my favorites out of all my high school years. Afterwards we heard that an already graduated gal was having her sweet 19th birthday party at noahs so naturally, we went. okay so let me just say that i have not been the most outgoing social girl. sure i hung around girls that loved being in the high light but i sort of stayed out of the way. that was just the way i liked it. so we walk in to this party and there are quite a few people there. of course if was fun seeing all of the people that had just graduated plus the ones that were still in high school. the party was a hit and for some reason i decided to get out of my little bubble and go crazy. I was going to dance the freaking night away and not let anyone get in my way. I swear it was those glasses that i was wearing, maybe they made me feel invisible. So i went crazy. I was dancing and having a great time when this kid comes right in my face and says "HI!" i replied "hi" and thought wow, what energy that kid has, then went on my way. a few minutes that same kid comes back and starts dancing with me. "alright, i think i will totally just go with the flow" i thought, and we continued to dance. no words were spoken, just some good old dirty dancing. thats right, dirty dancing. we were pretty classy, huh? so i look over and 3 of my friends are standing in the distance looking at us totally laughing about the whole situation. after all, it was pretty funny, i still giggle a little whenever i retell the story. so the song ends and we both go our separate ways. i dont really remember if we spoke after we finished dancing or if one of use just ran off. I do remember that my friends were in a rush to leave so i guess i just darted right out of there. on the car ride home my friends and i were talking about how much fun that night was and how funny/awkward/awesome it was when landon and i were dancing. anyways, i totally had moved on from that and was texting a different kid that night telling him to sneak over to my house. maybe i just wanted to make out with someone? who, in high school, didnt love a good old one night stand (just making out, of course). unfortunately he said that he would not be able to sneak out that night so i sat down to watch a little bit of the tube. My phone starts ringing and its my bff kimmy. "can colton (her boyfriend at the time who was indeed friends with landon) give that kid you danced with tonight your phone number?" "umm..i guess!.." so i was secretly wishing that he would text me that night. no text. no text. no text. i totally remember thinking that it was pretty gay that he would ask for my number and then he didnt do anything with it. 2 days later i'm at happy sumo with my mom and sisters for dinner when my bff kim calls and says "landon wants to know if you want to hang out tonight." HA! helllloooo dude, if you want to hang out then ASK ME YOURSELF! so she told him that because i wasnt about to hang out with some kid who had my freaking phone number but wouldnt ask me to hang out. it wasnt long after that i received a text from him. i dont remember what it said but i do remember that it made me laugh. dang, i wish i would have saved it somewhere. but anyway, colton and kimmy came over  then a little bit later landon showed up. we watched troy, which i will never ever ever watch again and i cant believe i even approved of it that night. i guess i was just trying to suck up. kimmy and colton left in the middle of it to go get a "drink" thats when i started to get a little nervous. i was alone. in the dark. watching troy. so bored but so twitterpated by every word and move that this kid i was sitting next to would make. when BAM, he kissed me. the first night we had officially hung out. the first night we had officially had our first conversation. then BAM, we started to make out and not only 5 minutes later kimmy and colton came back. we finished the movie, kimmy and colton left and landon and i kissed again. when i walked him to the door i kept telling myself that i would never hang out with him again. WHY did i even kiss him? i am such an idiot. he is going to think i'm so easy now. well, we hung out the next day, and the next, and the next, and the..well, you get it! after about 4 months i told my friends how thankful i was that we were still together because we not only kissed but made out on the first day we hung out. and if we hadnt been together i know i would have just looked at him and thought how big of a slut i was. ha. well 3 years and 7 months later we are still together. and so deeply, madly, uncontrollably in love.

sometimes i blame us kissing on the first day we ever hung out on us getting in stupid fights. but most times i blame us kissing on the first day we ever hung out on us being together forever. 

so what do you know..

i have created another blog! no surprise, no surprise. Its almost like i'm too afraid of cyber commitment or something. This time I have a good excuse, did you notice my header? thats right, we are getting married!! June 28, 2012 is the date and we are thrilled. oh and words of advice, a 6 month engagement is not too long. in fact, its quite perfect. we only have 2.5 short months left and suddenly i'm feeling rushed and not ready. when i spoke the words "i'm feeling stressed" my mothers eyes widened and with a baffled tone of voice "you are??!". yeah. I have sort of had this whole wedding thing down to a T for the past 2 years when i decided that looking at wedding blogs should be my career. Thankfully through out those 2 years i wrote down all of my favorite sites and venders so when the big engagement day came all i had to do was give them a call. it worked out quite nicely, I know that my mom was ecstatic. but here we are now and i feel like my list of things to do is growing bigger and bigger. but in all reality its just small things that dont necessarily matter that i dont have under control. unfortunately those things matter to me. I guess i should just be thankful that i pretty much planned my whole wedding within the first month and a half. okay. i'm starting to feel better.
i'm totally shocked that i havent mentioned in here that i'm too excited for words to get married. I have been day dreaming about my married life for years and years, specifically to that man i'm with up there. I am so lucky. we know each other too much, yes, too much. but amazingly enough we are still learning things about one another and going through things that when i look back 2 years ago i would have never imagined that we would have gone through but you know what? like every married couple would say, we have grown immensely because of what we have gone through or who we have become. I am just so happy that he can put up with my crap, i can seriously be a pill. and i will put words in his mouth and say that he is thankful that i will put up with his crap too because, well he can be a pill too. but you know what? it works. we work.